Skynet 2.0

21 Jan

Skynet 2.0

I have finally finished my enthusiast gaming computer.

The parts I decided on are as follows;

Intel i5 2500k processor.

  • I picked this due to its performance to price ratio. Widely acclaimed as the best budget cpu on the market it delivers unlocked performance

Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus

  • A top rated cpu air cooler. I chose this cpu cooler because it delivers a performance not achievable by the stock cooler that the cpu comes with. I chose this route over the closed circuit liquid cooler due to the placement of the computer case fans. I would have been left with a 140mm fan that would not have been able to fit anywhere else.

Cooler Master Storm Trooper Case

  • Cooler Master continues to come out with industrial style cases with high air flow. This case has plenty of space for expansion and has complete control of the cases lights and fans. It also comes with 2 front usb 3.0 ports and is SSD ready.

XFX Radeon 6970

  • Again I chose this component due to its high performance to price comparison. XFX has a great warranty and has a strong reputation for making quality products. I decided not to wait until boxing day to buy a graphics card because this was on sale and boxing day is always a gamble when you are dealing with uber nerds at 3am in the cold.

Corsair 120GB SSD

  • Solid State Drives are the future of computing with their blazing speeds. I can now boot windows in under 6 seconds. I chose 120GB so that it wouldnt be a constant juggling of programs to create space.

ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe Gen3

  • Built in Bluetooth, Intel Smart Repsonse Technology, Plenty of SATA ports, PCIe 3.0, USB 3.0 header. This board had everything I was looking for. This board is so advanced that I can boost its performance with one button on my Bluetooth enabled phone.

GSkill Ram 16GB

  • In this category I simply chose what was in my opinion the best sale on throughout my researching period. I was able to get a full 16GB for $50. The frequencies can get quite complicated and the performance increase is marginal.

Some of the things I learned when building this latest computer.

  • Install the CPU cooler first. It is easier to access the hard to reach places when the motherboard is outside of its case.
  • Leave a little wiggle room in your budget. Subtotals can sneak up quick so pay close attention to the taxes, environmental taxes, shipping, insurance costs.
  • Leave yourself lots of time to install the components. Make it a weekend project.
Leave a Reply

